Inspiration, Enablement, Empowerment – from the heart

Setting Goals

Blogging 201 started on Monday. Today is Thursday (ooops! slipped to Friday) and I’m just getting started! Why? Well I could excuse having Monday off because I spent the whole of that day writing a short story. It’s the first actual short story I’ve ever written (at least the first I’ve ever written intentionally as a short story). There may come a time when I’ll offer it for my readers here to enjoy, but not now. This was written to a short deadline for a specific purpose. No, I’m not going to talk about that just yet either, but it could lead to something completely life changing.

So that’s Monday excused, but what about Tuesday and Wednesday? That one’s difficult; the task for Monday was to set three concrete goals and goals are something I’ve always had trouble setting. I’m not sure why this is, but this one’s had me wracking my brains. What do I want to achieve? When do I want to achieve it? How much of it do I want to achieve? Why do I want to achieve it? And goals should be quantifiable, but what quantity is it reasonable to set, what quantity is achievable? I’ve often felt when asked to set a goal, that whatever figures I put down are meaningless, because however many times I go around the loop, I feel like they’ve been pulled from the air. It’s important though, that goals reflect and assist your intentions. If your intentions are vague, then what comes from them will be vague too!

I’ve historically not been much of a goal setter then. It’s something I need to get better at, so let’s try this:

First goal: Catch up on this week’s 201 tasks over the weekend.

Second goal: Have at least 50 regular readers of this blog by the end of November

Third goal: Get my Trans blog rebranded and relaunched with the first of my planned series of articles on the shortcomings of NHS Gender Services; by this time next week.

Comments on: "Setting Goals" (3)

  1. Wow! You spoke of my EXACT struggle with goal setting. I also missed the week of 201 and am trying to catch up so I might be piggybacking your Goal 2. Good luck with yours, Ill be sure to keep reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was going to say more on the subject, but decided it just needed to go! I have a really busy day tomorrow, with an early start, so most of my catch up is likely to happen on Sunday… though I hope to get one or two more tasks completed before then!

      Like

  2. […] I began Blogging 201 with the best of intentions “Keep up girl, keep up!” Yet the first week slipped by and I only kicked into gear right at the tail end, addressing Monday’s task on Friday, with Setting Goals […]

    Like

What are Your Thoughts?

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Disrupting Dinner Parties

Feminism is for everyone!

Publishing Insights

Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose / The more things change, the more they stay the same

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

successlabtv

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Jane Fae

A fine WordPress.com site

Ampthill Writers' Group

Promoting and supporting local writers

a gentleman and a scholar

trans politics, too many books, a great deal of music, assorted ephemera.

Sky Blue Daze

Life, landscape, and lore in Idaho Rockies and on Washington's North Olympic Peninsula

Reflections

What makes us human?

writingindevizes

German in UK with poems, pets and flowers

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Outside the Fish Bowl

Swimming against the current or a fish out of water?

The Sound Of Summer

If It's Music It Matters

